Submissions open for the 2019-20 Mike Smith Student Prize

The Mike Smith Student Prize awards $3000 to an outstanding research essay addressing the history of Australian science or Australian environmental history.

Deadline:  9am AEDT Monday 20 January 2020

Criteria: The prize will be awarded for an essay based on original unpublished research undertaken whilst enrolled as a student (postgraduate or undergraduate) at any tertiary educational institution in the world.

The essay should be 4000–8000 words in length (exclusive of endnotes). Essays must be written in English and fully documented following the style specified for the Australian Academy of Science’s journal, Historical Records of Australian Science.

Essays may deal with any aspect of the history of Australian science (including medicine and technology) or Australian environmental history. ‘Australia’ can include essays that focus on the Australian region, broadly defined, including Oceania. Essays that compare issues and subjects associated with Australia with those of other places also are welcomed. The winning entry, if it is in a suitable subject area, may be considered for publication in Historical Records of Australian Science.

Past winners:  Historical Records of Australian Science have published a virtual issue showcasing six previous essays awarded the Mike Smith Prize.

Applications:  For more information about the application process please visit

HOPOS 2020 relocated to SIngapore

Dear Colleagues,

I hope this e-mail finds you well. I am enclosing a link to the CFP for next year's biennial meeting of the International Society of the History of Philosophy of Science (HOPOS). Due to ongoing unrest in Hong Kong, the HOPOS Steering Committee made the difficult decision to relocate the conference to Singapore and extend the deadline for submissions until Oct 31, 2019. It is important that we advertise the new venue and deadline, especially to those who do HOPOS related research in the Australasian region. I would therefore greatly appreciate it if you could spread the word and circulate the enclosed link to the conference web page to your colleagues and students. Thank you so much, and hoping we might meet in Singapore next summer.

With best wishes, Helen

HOPOS 2020

HOPOS, the International Society for the History of Philosophy of Science, is devoted to promoting scholarly research on the history of philosophy of science. We construe this subject broadly, to include topics in the history of related disciplines and in all historical periods, studied through diverse methodologies.

Dr Helen Hattab
Full Professor of Philosophy
University of Houston
Past President of the International Society of the History of Philosophy of Science (HOPOS)

Due date 31 October, 2019

HPS at Melbourne, seminar

I would like to invite you to a special seminar by History and Philosophy of Science this week which will be held to commemorate the centenary of Diana (Ding) Dyason, former head of HPS at the University of Melbourne. 


1pm Wednesday 18 September,
Arts West North Wing-553 (Discursive Space)

History and Philosophy of Science has been taught in some form at the University of Melbourne since 1946, making it one of the oldest such Departments in the world. Dyason joined the Department – then known as the Department of General Science and Scientific Method – shortly afterwards, in 1950. In 1958 Dyason was appointed to be Senior Lecturer-in-Charge of the recently renamed Department of the History and Philosophy of Science. Ding led the Department until 1975 when she was succeeded by Rod Home. During this time, Dyason was also the first President of the Australasian Association for the History and Philosophy of Science (now AAHPSSS) and left an enormous legacy in the social history of medicine.

The Ding Dyason commemorative seminar will touch on all aspects of Dyason’s life, work and intellectual legacy with a series of short talks and panels from current, former and emerging scholars from HPS. 

Speakers will include former heads of HPS, Janet McCalman and Howard Sankey, historian of the Dyason family Cecily Hunter, Lecturer in the History of Medicine and Life Sciences, James Bradley, and Postgraduate Research Fellow and this year’s Greg Dening Lecturer Fallon Mody.

The event will be lightly catered. All are welcome, no RSVPs necessary.

For further information about details of the event, please contact the HPS Seminar Co-ordinator, Martin Bush, at

SAANZ Conference – Call for Papers

This year's SAANZ (Sociological Association of Aotearoa New Zealand) conference, which will be taking place in Auckland, New Zealand (December 3–6), and will feature a "Science and Technology Studies" stream.  

Further information can be obtained at the following link:

Abstract submission is now open and closes at 5pm on September 20th.

Send abstracts of between 150 and 200 words in .doc or PDF format to and include the following:

  • Title of presentation
  • Presenter's names and institutions/organisations
  • Preferred stream (if any)

New Book: The Reproductive Industry: Intimate Experiences and Global Processes

Vera Mackie, Nicola J. Marks and Sarah Ferber, eds, The Reproductive Industry: Intimate Experiences and Global Processes, Lanham: Lexington Books, 2019, with contributions from Jane Adams (Otago), Sarah Ferber (Wollongong), Sarah Franklin (Cambridge), Jaya Keaney (Sydney), Vera Mackie (Wollongong), Nicola J. Marks (Wollongong), Vasudha Mohanka (Wollongong), Robyn Morris (Wollongong), Damien Riggs (Flinders), Sonja van Wichelen (Sydney), Andrea Whittaker (Monash).

From its origins in 1978, when the first babies conceived through in vitro fertilization (IVF) were born in the UK and India, assisted reproduction has become a global industry. Contributors to The Reproductive Industry: Intimate Experiences and Global Processes reflect on the global dimensions of IVF and assisted reproductive technologies, examining how people have used these technologies to create diverse family forms, including gay, lesbian, and transgender parenthood as well as complex configurations of genetic, gestational, and social parenthood. The authors examine how IVF and other reproductive technologies have and have not circulated around the globe; how reproductive technologies can be situated historically, nationally, locally, and culturally; and the ways in which culture, practices, regulations, norms, families, and kinship ties may be reinforced or challenged through the use of assisted reproduction.


The volume can be purchased from Lexington Books with discount code LEX30AUTH19.

Nicola Marks
University of Wollongong