ISHPSSB Off-Year Workshops

The ISHPSSB Off-Year Workshop Committee has been hard at work, and we are pleased to announce two more workshops have been approved.  This brings the total number of 2022 ISHPSSB Off-Year Workshops to five!  You can view all of them on the ISHPSSB webpage here:

Please note the new website for the “Echoes of Scientific Thought in Society” workshop, and the upcoming Apr. 30 CFP for “Philosophy of Biology and Cognitive Sciences XI.”

Our two new workshops:

Sustainable Practices Workshop

University of Minnesota, June 10, 2022 (virtual)

EASPLS 2022 (European Advanced School in Philosophy of the Life Sciences): “Dealing with Complexity in the Biological and Biomedical Sciences”

Institute for Philosophy in Biology & Medicine, ImmunoConcEpT lab, and University of Bordeaux, Bordeaux, France, Sept. 5-9, 2022 (in-person)


This adds to the previously approved workshops:

Echoes of scientific thought in society: the late 19th century-early 20th century ‘race science’ in Argentina and Brazil

University of São Paulo, Brazil, Sep. 19-23, 2022. (virtual)

Website: (NEW WEBSITE!)

A triple helix: metaphor, society, and the science of evolution. A workshop in memory of Richard Lewontin

UNAM, Mexico, Oct. 3-7, 2022. (hybrid)

Contact information: David Suárez Pascal (

Philosophy of Biology and Cognitive Sciences XI (PBCS XI)

University of Salamanca, Spain, Nov. 3-4, 2022 (in-person)

Contact information:


Call for Participation (deadline April 30):

Thanks to all the organizers of these workshops for their hard work.  Please share with your interested colleagues and students.


Your ISHPSSB Off-Year Workshop Committee,

  • Matt Haber, University of Utah (chair)
  • Alex Aylward, University of Oxford
  • Jenny Bangham, Queen Mary University of London
  • Luciana Garbayo, University of Central Florida
  • Vivette García Deister, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
  • Eva Guadalupe Hernández Avilez, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
  • Maria Elice de Brzezinski Prestes, Universidade de São Paulo
  • Lucia Neco, University of Western Australia
  • Charles Pence, Université catholique de Louvain
  • Javier Suárez, Universit of Oviedo